CBHS Steering Committee

Steering Committee Chair: Mark A. Hall, JD, Fred D. and Elizabeth L. Turnage Professor of Law, School of Law; Professor, Social Sciences & Health Policy, School of Medicine

Steering Committee Members (Wake Forest University):

  • Tony Atala, MD, Director of the Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine; Professor and Chair, Department of Urology, School of Medicine
  • Ronny Bell, PhD, MS, Co-Director of the Maya Angelou Center for Health Equity; Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Prevention, School of Medicine
  • Carole Gibson PhD, Professor, Department of Biology, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Bill Leonard, PhD, Professor of Church History, School of Divinity
  • Sally Shumaker, PhD, Professor, Department of Social Sciences & Health Policy, School of Medicine
  • Mark E. Welker, PhD, William L. Poteat Professor of Chemistry


Steering Committee Members (Outside Experts):

    • Larry Churchill, PhD, Ann Geddes Stahlman Professor of Medical Ethics, Vanderbilt University
    • Eric Juengst, PhD, Director, UNC Center for Biomedical Ethics; Professor of Social Medicine, University of North Carolina School of Medicine
    • Dee Leahman, MA, Corporate Manager-Advance Care Planning, Novant Health, Winston-Salem, NC