Wake Forest University’s Bioethics Faculty Nationally Recognized – Dr. Ana Iltis elected by the members of ASBH to President-Elect


The American Society for Bioethics and Humanities (ASBH) has announced that Ana S. Iltis, PhD, Wake Forest University Professor of Philosophy and Director of the Center for Bioethics, Health, and Society, has been elected by its members to the position of ASBH President-Elect.  Bioethics is the study of ethical issues relating to health care, biotechnology, and medical research, including issues such as decisions at the end of life, stem cell research, genetics and genomics, health policy, and fair access to treatment.  ASBH is the leading US professional association devoted to bioethics and the medical humanities.

The President-Elect serves for 2 years alongside the current President, and then serves a 2-year term as President, so Dr. Iltis will become President of ASBH in 2019.


In addition, Danish Zaidi, MTS, MBE, a second-year medical student at Wake Forest School of Medicine, has been elected to serve as the student member of the ASBH Board of Directors.


The election of a Wake Forest faculty member and student to these national leadership positions is just one sign of the growing importance of the institution’s contributions to bioethics scholarship and practice.  In addition:




Mark Hall, J.D., Fred and Elizabeth Turnage Professor of Law and Public Health and co-director of the WFU Graduate Program in Bioethics, was elected two years ago to the prestigious National Academy of Medicine and was appointed last year as the only Senior Nonresident Fellow in Health Policy at the Brookings Institution



Nancy M. P. King, J.D., Professor, Department of Social Sciences and Health Policy and co-director of the Graduate Program in Bioethics and the Center for Bioethics, Health & Society, was appointed two years ago to the Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Human Research Protections which advises the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services on the oversight of research with human subjects.



John Moskop,Ph.D., Wallace and Mona Wu Chair in Biomedical Ethics, Professor of Internal Medicine, and Chair of the WFBMC Clinical Ethics Committee, is serving a second term as an Officer of the Academy for Professionalism in Health Care, which is devoted to improving professionalism in all health-related fields through education, scholarship and public policy.